From the Principal

Dear Parents and Guardians:


Our school wide instructional focus for the 2014-2015 academic year is that all students will look at complex text through daily instruction across all subject areas. We ask you to encourage your children to read everyday. Our goal at IS 131 is to recognize students reading independently as a part of our "Get Caught Reading" initiative. Every student was given a reading tracker and we encourage them to complete it every night.

Be sure to check your Engrade accounts for important messages from your child's teacher. Open lines of communication are essential to the success of your child's education.

Sincerely,

Monique Mason

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, March 31
Washington D.C. Parent Meeting 4:30-6:00PM
4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
Informational meeting regarding the specifics of the trip
Thursday, April 2
NO Aspira Afterschool Program
Fri, Apr 3 - Fri, Apr 10
Spring Recess
Including Good Friday, Easter & Passover. Students return to school on Monday, April 13,
Friday, April 3
Spring Break With Aspira
9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Not going on vacation? Aspira will be in session for enrichment, sports, recreational activities, and more.
Monday, April 6
Spring Break With Aspira
9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Trip to the Movies to see "Home" @ Bay Plaza

IS 131 Cell Phone Policy

IS 131 Cell Phone Policy Read more...

DREAM- Specialized High School

ASPIRA After School Program



The ASPIRA after school program runs five days a week from 2:30-5:30.  We offer many different engaging activities to the students of IS 131.

-Activities-

  • Sports
  • Fashion
  • Drama
  • Choir
  • Band
  • Chess
  • Computer Media
  • Dance- Step, Ballet, & Salsa



Student's Corner

Google Search


Weather

Today, 3/30/2015
High: 52 Low: 38
Chance rain
35% chance of precipitation.
Tomorrow, 3/31/2015
High: 49 Low: 37
Partly sunny
30% chance of precipitation.

Testing Information

Nutrition Committee


Our nutrition committee meets every Monday with the Principal at 8:30 am to discuss the nutritional value of the  food being served to the school community.  The members of the committee represent the voice of the student population.  This committee is a dedicated group of students who want to ensure students enjoy a healthy breakfast and lunch.  The committee meets with the head nutritionist once a month to provide recommendations for the breakfast and lunch menu.  


Login Control


Saturday Academy


We will be conducting a Saturday Academy to prepare our students for the upcoming New York State Common Core ELA and Math Exams. In an effort to support your child to become proficient and master the content, we are extending an invitation to this venue started on Saturday, December 13, 2014.  The program will take place from 9:00 to 12:00.  Attendance and participation in all sessions is required. 


The dates are as follows:

  • December 13th & 20th
  • January  10th, 24th  & 31st
  • February 7th & 28th
  • March 7th , 14th, 21st, & 28th
  • April 18th  


Working For The Weekend



Please check back here every Friday to see the assignment for each grade level.  Every student will receive a hard copy of the assignment.  Each of these tasks are to be completed by every student and handed in on Monday.  


Student Government


The IS 131 Student Government is proud to have a group of students learning how to become positive leaders in the school community.

These students are representing the voice of the student body.  They are looked at as leaders of the school behave as Student Council Representatives should behave.  Their job is to look for ways to improve the school during the weekly meetings.  
The Council meets every Tuesday after school in room 211 at 2:35.  

If there are any topics you would like to bring to the attention of the student council you can speak with Mr. Kessler or any member of the student council listed below.  

-Members-

- Hailey Escolastico- 801 hailey.escolastico@is131.org
- Chloe Gonzalez- 801     chloe.gonzalez@is131.org
- Lincoln Mañana- 803     lincoln.manana@is131.org
- Shaylynn Martinez- 801 shaylynn.martinez@is131.org
- Koralys DeLaCruz- 801   koralys.delacruz@is131.org
- Celiveth Castro- 801     celiveth.castro@is131.org
- Keydi Lopez- 801 keydi.lopez@is131.org
- Jahbril Dial- 607 jahbril.dial@is131.org
- Yelissa Lopez- 702 yelissa.lopez@is131.org
- Gabriel Moran- 705 gabriel.moran@is131.org
- Justin Desprebiteres- 801 justin.desprebiteres@is131.org

Please e-mail any one of our student council members if you have any questions, comments, or concerns.  Our student council is here to represent the students of IS 131.


Parent Registration



By registering to receive class email alerts, parents can keep up to date on announcements, upcoming events, homework assignments, and other class information on any schedule they prefer (e.g., daily, 2x/week, weekly), or only when relevant new content is added.Please fill in the following form and click the Register button when you are finished. Once your information is received we will email you your username and password.  Please Click Here to register.


James Patterson

Middle School The Worst Years of My Life


Read more...

Engrade

Engrade


Read more...